Starting out

I would like to think I have been a good pupil on the seminar a couple of days ago. Thanks to the knowledgeable Rene Looper I have duly learned and remembered that social media are important tools in today’s business world, and thrown myself headfirst into the confusing melee of the Facebook and Twitter community. Oh, not that I don’t already have a Facebook page. After all, in an age of mobiles with low credit this is an indispensable gadget for the ever flowing cash machine that is today’s parent when trying to keep in touch with restless offspring. But I am essentially a private person and not used to playing out my life for the whole world to see.

Well, what with the recession and all that I certainly could do with drumming up more business, so what could be easier than to create a Facebook business page? That’s what I thought Thursday after the course. I still thought that yesterday, when I set it up. Today I feel brave and switch to using Facebook as my business persona, like I was told to. Very posh. By clicking a few buttons I even manage to send notifications to all my friends that my new page is up and running, Facebook is very helpful.

No, this looks suddenly very very empty, where did it all go? Where are all my friends? And my wall, where is that? No no no, I can’t have that, that won’t do at all. An empty wall and no friends, that isn’t helpful for keeping tabs on the younger element of the family. Nor is it any good for relaxing in a chat with a family member in another part of the continent. How do I get all that back? Clicking all the buttons under the sun just sends me spinning round in circles and I end up where I started – on my almost bare wall.

Notifications are flagged up red now, it looks as if some people actually like my new page. No time to get big-headed, though, I must find my way out of this jungle. Why is it that only people I have never met before like my page? Apart from one, that is. Some friends, where are they when you need them – will have to have words, I think. I wonder how all these strangers have found me so quickly – doesn’t networking operate in mysterious ways. Still, better not click any more links or I will end up completely lost, – the back button should be quite safe. I should really have read the guide beforehand, but who can be bothered with all that tedious drivel when there is a whole new world to be explored. Messages now, where do they suddenly come from, I really just want to find myself again!

I suppose I had better do the professional thing and deal with them first. After all, wasn’t that the point in setting up the page in the first place? When am I going to get around to actually doing any work, I wonder, if this is what it’s like. Concentrate, remember, what you’ve been taught, there’s a good girl. Now answer the messages and then we’ll find a way out…

Ah, there’s the rescue – a link, I found a link, a link to my other me, click that and I am ok, phew! I change back to my old self and my trusted and comfortable surroundings. Clicking around I make sure everything is how and where it should be and pander about the wisdom of this venture. That lifesaving link could disappear into the never never of cyberspace once the wall fills up. How do I get back then? What if I end up sinking and drowning in the churning world of clicks and buttons and posts and likes and comments?

Diversion therapy I will do nicely now,  a soothing mug of coffee is in order.  I need time to re-muster my courage and tomorrow is another day….

Leave a Reply

Atalante Knits

through space and time

Atelier Nostalgia

Nostalgic musings, on historical clothing, traditional costume, fantasy, photography and history.

Encouraging Expression Speech and Language Services, PLLC

Serving Benzie County and the Surrounding Area

The Hazel Tree

an online magazine edited by Jo Woolf

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

Gourmet Paper Mache

Not your third grade paper mache

koffer zu klein

Ideen zu groß

Of Plums and Pignuts

forest gardening and perennial vegetables

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

Richard Sugden

"The important thing is not the camera but the eye."

Aided and Abetted by Tea

Writing inspired by the act of drinking tea

Chooks and Roots

A garden blog by a keen gardener - results more luck than judgement

s-u-n-s-r-a-y-s

photographic experiments by a newbie in the field

gwenniesgarden

a blog about my garden and my soft spot for cacti and succulents, travelling and art

Nicole L. Bates

official site

nachgetragen!

Subjektiv, polemisch, nachtragend.

Teacups Press

Publishing website for Tearoom Delights

Scrapunzel

Uniquely normal is as uniquely normal does.

rigmover

I Travel, I Take Photos

basicgardener

Sharing my Passion for Gardening and Plants

Tulloch's View of Scotland

Well, with a little bit of a blog actually ...

Scott K Marshall Photography (@skm1963)

developing my photography in Moray & the Scottish Highlands

