Chanonry Point

It’s been a while since I have been on here, so I guess I should really get a move on. Not that I find that particularly easy with all the distractions currently going on. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when my other half has a few days leave and the pressure of getting up at six in the morning is off. But after five tedious and frustrating MOTs, three of which I have physically waited for, one near death of a car with all the resulting panic, two massive bills – though only one of them is ours, the other, which annoyingly is also the smaller one, belongs to another member of the family, I kind of look forward to disappearing into my otherworld where I can let the pencil dance across the paper and forget about everything for a while.

I thought that normality would return this week, too, but alas, the flu has struck, so I still have people around me all the time because, quite frankly, one is actually better off here than at his work, where he would probably cause all sorts of havoc in his semi-conscious stupor, while the other has resumed his chaotic shifts at his job.

Unfortunately for me, that spells night shift. Meaning, once everyone else is in bed, I get peace and quiet with no interruptions, so I am finally able to tidy up my brain and get my thoughts into some sort of usable order.

During my other half’s time off we did actually manage a drive out – once we finally had the car back, that is. The idea was that we’d take a look at a favourite local dolphin spotting point, since it was a gorgeous day. We forgot – how could we – that good weather at home doesn’t necessarily mean the same weather elsewhere. The sun was still glaring down  but it was blowing a gale, an absolutely freezing one at that. The dolphins must have felt put off, too, because they didn’t materialise. This was the view from Chanonry Point that day :But that’s how it goes, I guess, there will be other opportunities, no doubt.

So I thought I’d use the light house at that location for some drawing practise that I feel I am in dire need of – speed sketching. I should have done this on site, I know, but I felt too cold so I chickened out and did it a few days later from a photograph I had taken that day. The speed sketching also turned out a lot slower than I had hoped, not helped by various  interruptions, but it’s a start, I hope. I could certainly do with a counter balance for the detailed work I usually do, so this one was done with graphite sticks, forcing a less detailed approach and a rougher finish. Still ended up fiddling with it after, and had to tell myself off for it, but it’s all a learning curve. So this is Chanonry Point Light House with Graphite Sticks :

Leave a Reply

shadedfaces in threads

textile crafts and experiments

Atalante Knits

through space and time

Atelier Nostalgia

Nostalgic musings, on historical clothing, traditional costume, fantasy, photography and history.

Encouraging Expression Speech and Language Services, PLLC

Serving Benzie County and the Surrounding Area

The Hazel Tree

an online magazine edited by Jo Woolf

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Gourmet Paper Mache Blog

Advanced Paper Mache Art

Gourmet Paper Mache

Not your third grade paper mache

koffer zu klein

Ideen zu groß

Of Plums and Pignuts

forest gardening and perennial vegetables

Quartz

Quartz is a digitally native news outlet for the new global economy.

Richard Sugden

"The important thing is not the camera but the eye."

Aided and Abetted by Tea

Writing inspired by the act of drinking tea

Chooks and Roots

A garden blog by a keen gardener - results more luck than judgement

s-u-n-s-r-a-y-s

photographic experiments by a newbie in the field

gwenniesgarden

a blog about my garden and my soft spot for cacti and succulents, travelling and art

Nicole L. Bates

official site

nachgetragen!

Subjektiv, polemisch, nachtragend.

Teacups Press

Publishing website for Tearoom Delights

Scrapunzel

Uniquely normal is as uniquely normal does.

rigmover

I Travel, I Take Photos

basicgardener

Sharing my Passion for Gardening and Plants

Tulloch's View of Scotland

Well, with a little bit of a blog actually ...

Scott K Marshall Photography (@skm1963)

developing my photography in Moray & the Scottish Highlands

